2006 Nominating Committee Members

Rose Marie Bergherr, School of Agriculture Alumni Association, 9401 Lyndale Ave South #227, Bloomington, MN 55420-4255, ph 952-894-7621 Email: bergherr@myinfmail.com
Rose Marie Bergherr is a 1950 graduate of the School of Agriculture. She is active in the Alumni Association, of which she is the vice president. Rose Marie worked for the Bloomington schools for 22 years, and has lived in Bloomington for 35 years. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Metro State University, which she received in 1983. Rose Marie is a volunteer with her church and her church's nursing home. She is married and has five children.

Greg Cuomo, West Central Research & Outreach Center-Morris, U of MN, PO Box 471, Morris, MN 56267, ph 320-589-1711 Email: cuomogj@umn.edu
Greg Cuomo is a Professor in the Department of Agronomy and Plant Genetics, and is the Superintendent of the West Central Research and Outreach Center in Morris. Greg's administrative goals include heightening the relevance of the WCROC to the citizens of the State in a changing agricultural environment and working to strengthen the cooperative relationship among the Research and Outreach Centers and campus based departments for the betterment of producers and citizens. The focus of continuing research is the impact of management on pasture ecosystems.

Jon Evert, 6429 - 170th Ave So, Moorhead, MN 56560, ph 218-585-4148, E-Mail: jon@redriverbasincommission.org
Jon, county commissioner of Clay County since 1995, also works as a rural life outreach coordinator. He farmed his family farm from 1971-1997 and also owned and operated a certified seed plant from 1980-1993. Jon has been a member of the Clay County Extension Committee since 1995, serving as chair from 2000 to present. Jon was mayor of Comstock from 1976-1980 and chaired and served on several councils and boards: Clay-Wilkin Opportunity Council, Lakeland Mental Health Board of Directors (current chair), Metro Council of Governments,, and many others. In the early 1980's, Jon was awarded the honor of one of Ten Outstanding Minnesotans. Jon's continued interests and concerns focus on rural, agricultural, environmental and conservation issues and community self-reliance.

Mary Hanks, Energy & Sustainable Agriculture Program, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, 625 Robert Street North, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155-2538, ph 651-201-6277 Email: Mary.Hanks@state.mn.us
Mary Hanks is the ESAP Program Supervisor. She works with staff to develop project goals and implementation strategies. Mary's training is in plant pathology with a research focus. Mary has been active in sustainable agriculture for a number of years and has served as a member of the board for The Minnesota Project and the Sustainable Farming Association of Minnesota.

Robert P. King, Applied Economics, U of M, 231E Classroom Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55108, ph 612-625-0231, E-mail: rking@umn.edu
Rob King is Professor and Head of the Department of Applied Economics at the University of Minnesota. His research focuses on management issues facing food retailers, farmer cooperatives, and farmers and on the impacts new information technologies are having on the food system. He teaches undergraduate and graduate courses on managerial economics. He is also active internationally, having lectured in Brazil, Hungary, Italy, The Netherlands, and Poland over the past several years.

Dana Jackson, Land Stewardship Project, 2200-4th Street, White Bear Lake, MN 55110, ph 651-653-0618, E-mail: danaj@landstewardshipproject.org
Dana Jackson has been employed by Land Stewardship Project (LSP) since 1994. Currently she is a Senior Program Associate, directing the Farm and City Food Connections Program, overseeing LSP's communications program and developing education and outreach projects. Dana is a former member of the board of directors of MISA and several other non-profit organizations and currently serves on the board of the Wild Farm Alliance and the governing council of the Agriculture, Food and Human Values Society. Information about LSP can be found at: www.landstewardshipproject.org

Marvin D. Johnson, School of Agriculture Alumni Association, 6325 County Road 6, Maple Plain, MN 55359, ph 763- 479-2274, Email: mlittle@ci.independence.mn.us
Marvin Johnson is a 1955 graduate of the School of Agriculture and is currently President of its Alumni Association. He operates an 800-acre farm in Independence that has been in his family since 1864, and on which he grows corn, soybeans, alfalfa, and has a cow-calf operation. Marvin has been the mayor of the city of Independence for many years. He has been active with the University of Minnesota Extension Service, Farm Bureau, and many government and non-profit organizations including the Energy, Environment and Natural Resources Steering Committee for the National League of Cities.

Albert (Bud) H. Markhart, III, Department of Horticultural Science, U of M, St. Paul, MN 55108, ph 612-624-7705. Email: amarkhar@umn.edu
Bud is a professor in the Department of Horticultural Science at the University of Minnesota. His interests are in environmental physiology and organic growing systems for commercial production and homeowner gardening. He teaches "Growing Plants Organically; What it Means to be Green?" and is a member of the Sustainable Agriculture Minor Faculty. Current research interests focus on the use of cover crops in organic production systems, the effect of low root zone temperature on crop growth, and hydroponics.

Al Mayers, School of Agriculture Alumni Association, 2971 Pilot Knob Road, Eagan, MN 55121, ph 651-454-1289 Al Mayers is a 1948 graduate of the School of Agriculture and currently serves as Secretary/Treasurer of its Alumni Association. Al was born and raised on a farm near New Munich, Minnesota. He received degrees in Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science from the University of Minnesota, after which he sold pharmaceuticals for 37 years. Although he is not directly involved in farming, he feels that he retains his connection to agriculture through his background and through his family, most of whom are in agriculture or agriculture-related businesses.

Mark Muller, Director Environment and Agriculture Program, Institute for Agriculture & Trade Policy, 2105 First Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN 55404, ph 612-870-3400, Fax: 612-870-3420, E-mail: mmuller@iatp.org
v Since starting at IATP in 1997, Muller has worked on a wide variety of issues, including agricultural diversification, nutrient management, agricultural transportation, regional food systems and renewable energy production. He has been involved in both regional project-based efforts and national policy development. He has had opinion pieces on agricultural policy appear in newspapers throughout the Midwest. Muller has a B.A. in physics from the State University of New York at Geneseo and a M.S. in environmental engineering from Manhattan College. Prior to joining IATP, Muller worked as an environmental engineer and high school science teacher.

Helene Murray, Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture, 411 Borlaug Hall, 1991 Buford Circle, Saint Paul, MN 55108, ph 612-625-0220, Email: hmurray@umn.edu
Helene is the Executive Director of MISA. Her research interests focus on qualitative studies including decision cases and case studies, with a particular interest in local food systems. She serves on the Graduate Faculty of the Minor in Sustainable Agriculture Systems, and is a faculty member of the Applied Plant Sciences; MacArthur Interdisciplinary Program on Global Change, Sustainability and Justice; and the Conservation Biology programs.

May 2006


411 Borlaug Hall
1991 Buford Circle
St. Paul, MN 55108

fax: 612-625-1268